First United Methodist Church
Home Our History Our Worship Ministries  Church Groups Connect Gallery Contact Us
Mail: Inquiry
Contact Us:
6201 Belcrest Road  
Hyattsville, MD 20782
Tel: (301) 927-6133

Board of Trustees

Trustees oversee, maintain and supervise all local church property; report annually to the charge conference on the state of the church’s property, equipment, investments and resources; receive and administer all gifts made to the congregation; make certain that all trust funds of the congregation are invested properly; be responsible for all use of the church buildings and grounds; maintain adequate insurance coverage on all church property. Meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 7:30 p.m. Co Chairs are Dorothea Williams and Robert Chambers


Finance Committee is one of three committees required by UM Discipline. It is charged with receipt, deposit, accounting and disbursing of all funds received by the local church. It prepares an annual budget of operating funds from requests by each committee or ministry team and submits it for approval by the Church Council and is charged with raising funds approved by Church Council. Staff members of Finance are the Treasurer and the Financial Secretary who handle disbursement and receipt of funds. Finance committee meets on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6.30pm. Chair of Finance – Jim Langworthy

Church Council

The  Church Council is the legislative body for the local church and is responsible for making decisions related to program, finance, and administrative issues. The Church Council is also responsible for approving candidates who wish to become Certified Lay Ministers and ordained deacons or elders in the United Methodist Church.  It is made up of the chairpersons from each ministry team, Board of Trustees, Staff Parish Relations Committee, and members at large.  The Council meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7.00pm. Chair of Church Council, Sue Conway

Administrative Committees